Carmensmedicinals logo
$0.00 0 items

No products in the cart.

Free Shipping on All Orders Over $60 in the US

Do You Have to be 18 to Buy CBD Products

By Juan
Do You Have to be 18 to Buy CBD Products

CBD, also known as Cannabidiol, is a powerful cannabinoid with many proven health benefits. CBD is a safe, non-toxic, and non-psychoactive compound, due to this, it has become a part of our daily routine.

The 2018 farm bill federally legalized CBD but every state imposes different restrictions, in the United States, you may or may not be able to legally purchase CBD.

Hemp-derived CBD is also safe for kids, as it doesn’t contain little to no THC. Adults, teens, and even kids are allowed to take CBD in a variety of ways, from gummies, and edibles to honey sticks and lollipops.

However, the federal government doesn’t impose any age restrictions on hemp-derived CBD, therefore, age restrictions are different in every state. In the United States, the minimum age to purchase CBD is not clearly defined.

If you’re new to CBD, you might be asking, can a minor purchase CBD? Is there any specific age to buy CBD? Do you have to be 18 to buy CBD products?

In this article, you can find all the information about the minimum age requirements to purchase CBD and marijuana products.


CBD Age Limits Requirements

Technically, the farm bill allowed people of all ages to take and buy CBD, as long as CBD product doesn’t exceed the legal limit of THC, it doesn’t mean other states agreed to it.

The legal age to purchase CBD varies by the state and region in which you live. Some states require you to be 21, while others permit people 18 and older to purchase CBD, and some states have no age limitations on CBD at all.

In fact, the age restrictions on CBD products are actually quite broad and confusing. If you’re buying your first CBD product it’s better to learn the criteria and CBD laws of your region.

Even if you are old enough to purchase hemp or marijuana, there is no guarantee you will not face major criminal penalties.

However, if you’re buying Medical marijuana, you have to be at least 21 or older.


CBD Age Restrictions in all 50 States

In some states, you have to be 18 to buy CBD products, and in others, you must be 21. Some states have no age limitations to buying CBD products.

It is important to note that the legal age for purchasing CBD products is separate from the legal age for purchasing cannabis products containing THC, the psychoactive compound found in marijuana. The legal age for purchasing THC-containing products is typically 21, although some states have legalized the recreational use of marijuana for adults over the age of 21.


States Where You Have to be 18 to Buy CBD Products

(With Some Restrictions on CBD)                                       

  • California
  • Colorado (hemp must contain less than 0.3% total THC)
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida (you can also grow hemp)
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii (some dispensaries may require that you are 21)
  • Idaho (CBD products must have 0% THC content)
  • Kansas – same as Idaho (CBD products must have 0% THC content)
  • Kentucky (18 years old with a doctor’s recommendation)
  • Louisiana

(With No Restrictions on CBD)

  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • South Carolina (with prescription)
  • South Dakota
  • Vermont
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

States Where You Must be 21 or Older

  • Alaska (below 0.3% THC)
  • Illinois (you can legally obtain both hemp-derived and marijuana-derived CBD)
  • Indiana (only for medicinal purposes, Indiana state has no medical marijuana program)
  • Maine (only hemp-derived CBD)

States With No Age Restrictions to Buy CBD

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona (hemp-derived CBD at any age)
  • Iowa
  • Maryland
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska
  • New Jersey (you must be older than 18 for a medical marijuana program)
  • Texas
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia


Is it legal to give CBD to kids without permission?

According to the 2018 farm bill, it is legal to give CBD to kids as long as they contain 0.3% of THC or less.

Kids are allowed to consume CBD products in every form, from gummies to lollipops (except smokable form).

CBD is beneficial for kids, although it is advisable to give CBD to your kid under the supervision of any physician.

Since the CBD industry is unregulated, guardians should take recommendations and caution before buying any CBD product for kids. Many mislabeled products can contain toxic contaminants and can be dangerous for health, it’s better to purchase only from reputable brands.

At Carmen's Medicinal, we take great satisfaction in providing you with the best in the market. All our CBD products are purely extracted from hemp and THC-free. Whether it’s our CBD oil or gummies, you can always rely on us to deliver nothing but the best.


Is CBD Legal to Buy?

CBD is known for its health benefits, but as its popularity grows, many people are in doubt and wondering whether it is legal to use CBD. The answer to this question depends on the following factors:

  • In which state do you live?
  • Which type of CBD are you looking for? Hemp-derived or marijuana-derived CBD product?

The 2018 farm bill legalized CBD, including its buds, leaves, flowers, extracts, derivatives, and all its cannabinoids.

Keep in mind that the Cannabis plant with less than 0.3% of THC is considered Hemp, while more than 0.3% falls in the category of Marijuana. The farm bill only legalized hemp-derived CBD products, not marijuana.

Because THC produces high feelings, for this reason, marijuana laws vary from state to state. On the other hand, CBD is safe, it doesn’t make you high, and due to its non-toxic effects, kids and minors are also allowed to take CBD.

Therefore, hemp-derived CBD is legal in all states.

If you’re looking for marijuana CBD products, you’ll need a prescription from your doctor. However, Idaho, Nebraska, and South Dakota, these states considered marijuana-derived CBD products completely illegal.   

Industrial hemp with more than 0.3% of THC limit is already considered marijuana, which is still prohibited under federal law.

In short, CBD extracted from hemp plant is legal in all 50 states, whereas CBD derived from marijuana is not. Minors can only take marijuana-derived CBD under the supervision of their parents and in compliance with their state's medical marijuana program.


Is CBD Legal for Minors?

CBD is legal for all, including minors and adults.

Many teenagers suffer from anxiety and depression, and the consumption of CBD could help them to fight against stress.

All states place different age restrictions on CBD products, in Virginia, minors can obtain CBD only if they have a medical prescription.


Can Minors Vape CBD?

There are no federal age limitations, however, these restrictions differ from state to state. Minors can take CBD under particular conditions, such as when they are stressed or depressed. However, they must be 18 or older to vape or inhale CBD, but in other states, they must be 21 to vape cannabis.


CBD Drinks Legal Age

FDA doesn’t place any age restriction on CBD products. The legality of drinking CBD is different in all states, these laws may vary from 18-21 or older. However, you have to be 21 or older to legally obtained marijuana-derived CBD.



At what age can you take CBD?

CBD is a powerful cannabinoid with many health benefits, because of its therapeutic effects, the federal government imposes no age restrictions. CBD can be consumed by kids, teenagers, and adults with the recommended dosage.

Can you buy CBD at 18 MN?

CBD is legal in Minnesota, and there’s no federally legislated age restriction. You can consume and buy CBD at 18 in MN, however, you can’t obtain smokable CBD products, for smoking or inhaling CBD, you must be 21 or older.

Can you buy CBD at 18 in Oregon?

Oregon placed restrictions on CBD consumers depending on the product type. Minors can’t buy CBD products, they must be 18 or older to access any type of CBD. However, the source of CBD must be labeled, if you want to access marijuana-derived CBD, you must be 21 or older.

Is CBD legal in Texas for minors?

CBD is legal in Texas for kids, minors, and adults, only if CBD contains 0.3% of THC or less. However, smokable CBD products are banned in Texas. Also, minors can’t obtain medical marijuana, they must be 21 or older to purchase and buy marijuana products.

Last Words

The 2018 Farm Bill federally legalized CBD, but each state imposes different limits, so you may or may not be able to legally purchase CBD in the United States.

CBD extracted from hemp is also suitable for children because it contains little to no THC. Adults, teens, and even children are permitted to consume CBD in different forms, including gummies, sweets, honey sticks, and lollipops.

The minimum age to purchase CBD in the United States is not precisely specified.

In short, we can say that there are no age limits for buying CBD except for smokable products. For vaping CBD, you must be 21 or older to legally access them.

Minors can consume CBD only if they contain 0.3% of THC or less, minors aren’t allowed to smoke cannabis or vape marijuana products. CBD extracted from marijuana can only be recommended by a physician under the state's medicinal marijuana program.





Carmensmedicinals logo
The company's purpose is to manufacture high-quality goods and increase access to cannabinoid therapy since we believe CBD may enhance our quality of life.
These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.


1 (888) 328-6445
Whatsapp Us

Get Involved

2018-2023 © All Rights Reserved by Carmen's Medicinals.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram